PDA

View Full Version : Replaceing cockpit window.

Captain Vortex
1st Mar 2002, 02:31
Does anyone know the correct procedure for replaceing a fwd cockpit window of a B737?. .How long time does it take, and can you fly with it broken or cracked.

sparnell
1st Mar 2002, 03:12
Captain Vortex,. .The correct procedure for replacing a B737 flight deck forward window will be in accordance with the relevant aircraft maintenance manual. . .I'm no expert on the B737, but in comparison to types I'm familiar with, I think its unlikely that you can fly with it broken or cracked. The only defect usually allowable on windscreens are delaminations and they are only allowable within MM limits.. .Regarding time to change a windscreen; well, a good engineer SHOULD take as long as is necessary to ensure that the replacement is carried out IAW the MM and be properly certified.(Remember the BA BAC1-11?) However, usually you have managers/despatchers/passengers/accountants looking over your shoulder providing "commercial" pressure and therefore the time factor is down to the professional integrity of the engineer.

DontSink
1st Mar 2002, 04:02
You can fly with the window craked or delaminated. If you have a look at 737 QRH, there is a checklist called "arcing, delaminated or cracked window". But the MEL, of course will not let you leave with the window not even delaminated...!

But yes, you can fly... Hoe long to replace? Never been trought that, and don`t know someone who has, so I really don`t know, but it`s a good question for an engineer!

Cheers

mono
1st Mar 2002, 06:31
Guys,

As usual the time it takes to change a window depends on who changed it the last time. A correctly installed window will have underneath the aerodynamic seal a piece of string. You dig the end of the string out and pull it to break the rest of the seal. If this has not been done it will be a ****** to break the seal without damaging the surrounding structure, so will take a lot longer.