PDA

View Full Version : Hey EVERYONE

jayelleseven
9th Nov 2003, 15:20
Hello everyone on here! :D I am a student, (senior in high school) in the USA (I know this site is UK based) and will be SO thankful for info, advice, hints, you know on basically, whether this career is worth it, worth the time, worth everything
I am REALLY interested in becoming a pilot, SPECIFICALLY an airline pilot and I know it takes many years of expierience to get hired by the big airlines. REALLY, i jus want any response that will PERSUADE me into choosing this as my career. Are there any airline pilots out there??? I would love to get 2 talk 2 you guys, please....
thanks for any help
:ok:

Number Cruncher
9th Nov 2003, 19:37
If you need persuasion, I’d forget it and go get a different career!

Easy Glider
9th Nov 2003, 21:05
Yeah, the arse has fallen out of this one.

brownstar
9th Nov 2003, 23:03
Jayelleseven

I would say that if you want to become a professional pilot then try speaking to someone at your local flying club or flying school.
Just turn up and see if there are any commercial pilots around or anyone that can put you in touch with an airline pilot. Speaking direct to someone over the phone is a good way to get some of your questions answered. Most pilots would be happy to spare you sometime as each of them started out with the same questions you are now asking. It's difficult for me to advise you on avaition as a career as there are lots of things to consider. The only advice I would say is speak to some airline pilots directly, look at your finances as it can be very expensive, and decide. Save your money and go for a trial lesson in a light aircraft to see if you like it.
What ever you decide to do, whether it is an aviation job or something else, if you put in the work you will be acheive your goal and don't let anyone tell you it's not possible.

jayelleseven
10th Nov 2003, 03:00