View Full Version : Any idea on how to increase chances?

pilot_will
22nd Oct 2003, 19:54
Hi,

Im 16 years old, and I am currently studying for A levels. I have 9 GCSE's above grade C, and I have wanted to become a pilot since I was about 4 (aparently ;) )

I am still very keen, and have flown light aircraft with the Air cadets and hope to get a scholarship in gliding and flying some time.

I might have the money for a PPL. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on how I could increase chances of making that dream job as a pilot please? :D

Many thanks.

Man Flex
22nd Oct 2003, 20:29
Well young man I was YOU many years ago and I can only tell you what I did.

At sixteen I had about a dozen lessons at a local flying school which was paid for by my mum and cost about £1000. This was my birthday present and back then I think she thought it was a fad and I would grow out of it. Having taken these lessons of course I was hooked but had no more money. So, I left school having guarenteed a place at university and took a job on a supermarket checkout for a year. This paid me cash in hand of £60 per week and was just enough to be able to afford a one hour lesson. Over the next few months I used this huge salary and any money I received from Xmas or birthdays to complete my PPL. It was then time to go off to uni but that would have meant that I would have had to give up flying so instead I took a job in a bank were the salary was marginally more. Once again all my money went on flying lessons and during the next two years I obtained my Night and IMC ratings and amassed 200 hours!