PDA

View Full Version : DH Trident question?

Roc
20th Jan 2001, 06:05
Just read an interesting article about the Trident. I think its a real classic! As a 727 pilot, I'm interested about the controversy surrounding the alleged copying of the trident design by Boeing. Also any comments concerning why the Trident didn't do well commercially, how it was to fly etc....

exeng
20th Jan 2001, 06:27
Apparently it was designed as a 727 size A/C but B.E.A. (British European Aiways) decided it was too big and insisted it was re-designed to their specifications. The result was non too successfull, great at coming down but required the curvature of the earth to get airborne and had a poor range.

Many of the folk I have flown with still shed a tear at the mention of the word 'Trident', it was B.E.A. you see.

Regards
Exeng

411A
20th Jan 2001, 09:21
Can remember 6 days straight in November 1975
when nothing (well almost) in the A.M. operated at LHR except Trident. Superb autopilot. Ah....Smiths. Had one on the F.27 years ago, never failed.

twistedenginestarter
20th Jan 2001, 18:02
It's a bit like why did the Tristar not do as well as the DC10.

I think one downer for the Trident was a lack of an engine of the right size at the right time.

daft fader
20th Jan 2001, 19:04
The Trident 3 struck me as being a classic example of bodging things. When they needed more power for it and failing suitable engines they stuck a vertical lift engine (mounted on its side) into the tail above the centre engine for assisting take off. Many times in a tower somewhere I offered immediate take off only to be told that they needed to light up number 4.

GotTheTshirt
20th Jan 2001, 19:38
As has been said the Trident was a good aircraft screwd up by BEA. In those days BEA and BOAC WERE the UK aircraft design authority.
Everything was related to their airport/ field/ passenger requirements and they were great on standardisation. In fact everything was supposed to be the same.