PDA

View Full Version : Metro Ii/iii

Frightplan
8th Sep 2003, 07:51
Gday All,
I don't know that this is the best forum for this post but I am hoping someone can help me.

I am currently studying the Flight Safety Fairchild Metro "Pilot Training Manual".
I am hoping someone out there has more on this aircraft - video presentations etc. I am happy to pay for anything of use - or copies thereof.
I have not commenced any flying in the machine as yet but simply want to swat up as much as I can to help save on that illusive dollar that I am going to lose so much of when that phase kicks in!!!

My email is [email protected]

Thanks for any help.:8

18-Wheeler
8th Sep 2003, 20:33
A couple of comments on them -
1. Learn how to taxi without the nosewheel steering working. It'll fail one day, for sure.
2. No turns below about 140kts clean.
3. Gentle turns below 120kts with flap out.
4. DO do the weight & balance calculations, they really need to be done on such a long plane.

Frightplan
9th Sep 2003, 06:17
Cheers for your advice,

I appreciate any advice on this aircraft - no matter how insignificant it may seem to you.
We learn through experience (personal and otherwise)

So cheers again.

This will be my first turbine endorsement and perhaps I'm biting off a lot to chew on but I am really keen to get a command endorsement but then just sit in the right hand seat and soak it up for as long as it takes.

Thanks again - keep em coming!:ok:

chad valiant
9th Sep 2003, 13:13
For even better advice read the flight manual.
Never arm wrestle a metro pilot

wessex19
10th Sep 2003, 08:22
I heard there is a new check pilot at Horizon who knows everything!!! Just ask him.:mad:

CDT4
10th Sep 2003, 08:35
Have you been promised work? If so be very careful 3 friends of mine (all 2000 hrs plus) have completed metro endorsements with a promise of work in the past few months and are all either back flying pistons or still waiting on the promise to come good.

CDT4

Metro man