PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Road trip - Calgary to Santa Monica
View Single Post
Old 21st Aug 2015, 04:01
India Four Two

Received 74 Likes on 46 Posts
Day 3 - Heber City to Moab

No aeronautical sights today, so TAPs can skip to the end.

After looking at the map, I decided to change my itinerary. Instead of going directly to the Grand Canyon, I made a detour to the southeast, heading for Meteor Crater, east of Flagstaff. This allowed me to drive through Moab, which has some spectacular scenery and geology, which was a bonus for me, since I'm a geologist. I took Highway 40 to Duschene and then south on 191 through spectacular mountains to Carbonville (a coal mining town - no surprise there) and then on to Green River, passing the spectacular Book Cliffs on the way (not my photo):

A short drive along I70 and then back onto 191 to Moab. Before entering Moab, I went into Arches National Park.

Absolutely stunning scenery:

To get to Delicate Arch (last two photos), I had to hike 1.5 miles each way, with a height gain of 500'. The hike is described somewhat euphemistically by the Parks Service as "moderately strenuous". There was a Ranger at the trailhead, making sure that everyone had water - the temperature was about 30° C - and I suspect she was also assessing the ability of the candidates. Apparently I passed and I made it up and back in one piece, but I was so tired, I decided to check into a motel in Moab, rather than continue.

Moab is a nice, tourist oriented town. I chose a Mexican restaurant that came highly recommended in Tripadvisor. The food was very good, but this was the first Mexican restaurant I have been to that did not serve alcohol. Only in Utah!

What did not surprise me is that when I opened the desk drawer in my room, there was not only the ubiquitous Gideon Bible, but also the Book of Mormon.