PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - TransAsia in the water?
View Single Post
Old 10th Feb 2015, 13:26
HDRW

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've been looking at the FDR traces that have been released, and would like to share my analysis.
My credentials: I'm an amateur at this, but I have been debugging computer systems for over 40 years, so I'm used to looking at what evidence there is, and trying to work out what happened.

So: "Correct me if I'm wrong" applies to all of the below! When I say "the system" I mean some part of the automation - I don't know enough to say which particular box is involved, and it doesn't really matter at this point. All times are approximate, as it's a bit tricky to interpolate between the marked times.

It looks like everything was OK until 52:30. Then (at about the same time):
Objective TQ1 rose to 100%
No.1 Bleed Valve was closed
Prop.2 started to feather

I believe this is "Autofeather and Uptrim" by the system, because it believed No.2 engine had a problem.

Engine 2 Flame Out Warning was given
Fuel Flow 2 started to reduce, followed by No.2's ITT and RPMs (NL, NH, NP) and torque.

This seems to be the system bringing No.2 back to Idle, but without moving the Power Lever (can it do that on this aircraft?)

I'm going to call the small amount of time over which the above happened: "Point 1".

52:40 As a result of the above, No.2 spooled down, and by now it was at idle, feathered. (Its torque trace starts a strange triangle-wave, with about a 4-second period, spiking from zero up to about 150%.)

Power Lever 1 is retarded a bit, I'm assuming by the crew. CVR would be useful at this point to find out who/why.
They are still climbing, albeit slowly, until: