PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Iberia to Lose 4500 jobs - 25 airframes
View Single Post
Old 2nd Jan 2013, 16:02
relightengine

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi all,

first a little background. I work for BA but I live in Spain. I am, indeed half Spanish as well. However, I am no expert on anything here. I did, however, want to put a point of view across.

Firstly, I do sympathise with the plight of the Spanish pilots. Many of them have been more than kind to me in the past with help getting home and to work.

Having said that, I do feel that IB pilots should wake up a bit and smell the coffee. We at BA have been relinquishing T&C's (and complaining about it) for over 10 years. We have given up much: 1/2 hour on our Sch 10 may not mean much to most of you but in layman's terms it is a 4th man on all Hong Kongs, Sao Paulos, Rios and others others. 2 days leave recently in order to inbibe BMI and not let our management create a BA express at LHR as well as a whole host of other work coverage related sacrifices. It all started 11 years ago with a cheese board and all allowances were included in normal pay. To SFO's who'd been in the company some 7 yrs that meant about £2,000 a month as they were in a position to start bidding for the plum trips.

I won't even go into the changes to our pension over the years but suffice to say that we have to work 10 yrs longer in order to earn the same on retirement. Some of the blame, admittedly, is Gordon *&%$()g Brown's fault.

Ever since we have been bailing BA out of their troubles. However, in reality they are not BA's troubles, they are OUR troubles. If we wanted to have a long career in a stable airline, then we needed to make changes; and we did. Painful as they were we now have a viable airline with solid (ish) finances. At least as solid as an airline's finances can be.