PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Why do turbine engines require a compressor section
Old 15th Nov 2011, 20:24
oggers

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Slippery...

Mate, are you serious?
This is my serious face.

You can argue all you like, but I have a physics degree and the principles of thermodynamics have been unchallenged for a few hundred years.
I'm not challenging the laws of thermodyamics. What I'm disagreeing with is how you've explained them as they apply to a real engine. You may have a degree in physics but your post will have to stand on its own merit.

"Sorry no-one has answered the question you originally answered. I'm sure you realise the answers given about volumetric efficiency have nothing to do with your question about thermodynamic efficiency of an engine."
His original question was 'why does a turbine engine need a compressor' and that was answered in a number of ways including one direct reference to the Brayton cycle, which is correct.

Volumetric efficiency impacts on thermal efficiency though. If the VE is poor then you are suffering pumping losses and using more energy just to keep the engine running. Idealised heat engine models are all well and good up to a point but you have to move beyond a PV diagram to understand the constraints on the efficiency of a real engine.

"When the ignition occurs, a lower compression ratio engine will have a cooler air/fuel charge in the cylinder - and so it will absorb more energy (which is wasted as exhaust gas heat)."
I don't think so. You want the working fluid to absorb all available heat from combustion so as to raise the pressure. That's where the umph comes from. Waste heat in the exhaust is simply that which you are unable to turn into work before the power stroke ends.

"A high compression ratio engine will ignite a hotter air/fuel charge which will absorb less heat. Less energy wasted as heat = more energy transferred to the crank."