PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - What happened after my Pilapt assessment.
Old 31st Jul 2010, 18:04
Propellerhead

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CrescentPirate, I'm a current airline pilot involved in airline and flight school recruitment. I'd like to try and give some useful advice that hopefully is less extreme than some of this debate!

I've traditionally been a integrated fan, partly as that's the route I took, and because until before this crisis it was the best, most direct (but most expensive) route into the major airlines. BA do not take modular graduates for instance. I've always said that if you can afford it and it your financial risks are reasonable I would recommend it (this was before the crisis when good jobs were available straight after training).

In your situation I simply cannot recommend you go down the integated route at the moment. I think your financial risk is far too high and your chances of getting a job at the end of it are too uncertain at the moment. The only way I think you should consider a integrated course at the moment is if you can get some kind of sponsorship. The only one I know of is the FlyBe / Oxford one (have you applied?). Again you may not be able to afford it but that's something you could look into. At least with that you have a good chance of a job at the end and you can plan on a known starting salary and work it out.

The other alternative is to wait and either go to uni (but this is expensive these days so maybe not a good idea financially), or get a job that is either well paid so you can save money or get a lower paid ground job at an airfield etc (or do both). You could wait to see if further sponsorships happen in the future (which they will eventually), but if you can't afford the flybe then they are unlikely to be much better. My belief is that BA will probably launch a part sponsorship scheme in the next 2-3 yrs but that may be too long to wait.