Thread: AF447
View Single Post
Old 14th Jul 2009, 11:36
HazelNuts39

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
RE: PJ2 (#3572) : agreed also

RE: funfly (P.178 #3567)

Quote:
GPS cannot give you airspeed - it gives you ground speed. It's airspeed that makes aeroplanes fly.
KISS - there can be nothing more basic and therefore reliable for measuring airspeed than an air pressure monitor sticking out into the air itself (pitot tube).
/Unquote

Agreed entirely. However, I would like to add that there are other means of measuring airspeed. Before going into that, let me expose my understanding of the problem with pitot tubes. They need to be ventilated by drain holes to get rid of water or (melted) ice particles. The problem arises when the drain holes are blocked. Let me therefore explain two schemes which don't need drain holes.

As an ex-glider pilot I recall that sailplanes used to have a venturi probe. Whereas the pitot pressure is total pressure equal to static pressure plus dynamic pressure, the pressure measured with such a venturi is static MINUS dynamic pressure. In sailplanes that pressure is fed to a pneumatic rate-of-climb indicator (variometer) which then indicates variation of total energy, that is altitude corrected for airspeed changes. Since the air passes right through the venturi, it doesn't need drains.