PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Why I Love Being an Aircraft Engineer
View Single Post
Old 5th Dec 2020, 11:38
Genghis the Engineer

Received 48 Likes on 24 Posts
I took a different career path to most.

I was an MoD aircraft engineering apprentice, then did well enough to be sent to do a degree (and somehow ended up with a PhD a few years later). The formative moment for me was a placement with an aircraft manufacturer in the flight test department, which showed me that what I was really interested in was the overlap between engineering and flying, so I learned to fly as well.

A few highlights.

Seeing fitted the first modification I ever designed (nothing special, the anti-collision light under the nose of the Lynx 8, but hell, I was 19.)

Using a periscope at the back of a VC10 in flight to try and identify the reason the beaver tail between the adjacent podded Conways was fluttering, as Tornado pilots were refusing to fly behind it.

Making the first flight (as test pilot) on a homebuilt aeroplane that I had also overseen the full build on as an aircraft inspector.

Flying as a pilot, the first aeroplane design that I oversaw and approved as an engineer (tiny little low performance 2-seater, but it still counts).

Working with military test pilots and Rolls Royce airworthiness engineers to design and run the flight testing of a modified Dart turboprop on the HS780 Andover, and running the flight tests from the jumpseat.

Getting to the bottom of why a carbon fibre propeller had decided to spontaneously combust in flight, including scrounging a non-flight airframe, instrumenting it up, and running tests to determine the reason, then getting that circulated around the airworthiness community.

Finding a way to adapt military performance scheduling to civilian research aeroplanes, allowing them to fly more and better instrumentation, for longer, than ever before.