PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Tyabb Airport.
Thread: Tyabb Airport.
View Single Post
Old 15th Jun 2019, 11:33
max cont

I am a local resident although I have nothing to do with the Aero Club.This whole situation is very sad and I am astonished that it has come to this. The management of the situation by the Shire could have been much better and, as I have discovered personally elsewhere, they appear to lack proper records and seem to be unable to accept any responsibility of their past behaviour. There has, however, been significant agitation by a vocal, NIMBY minority that I believe has had an effect on the Shire’s behaviour and this should serve as a warning to other small local airports. Other modern factors which other airports should be aware of are the power of social media to spread “fake news” and the destruction of decent, traditional journalism to deliver genuine facts and analysis. It also shows how easy vandalism is - building things takes great effort but destroying them is much easier and we must guard against it or lose what we have.