PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Ethiopian airliner down in Africa
View Single Post
Old 20th Apr 2019, 14:20
MemberBerry

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TryingToLearn
OK, first: I'm not a pilot, I'm a functional safety engineer, mostly working for automotive.
Second: I read this thread from the beginning and learned a lot, thanks!

But I think I can explain one tendency which went up:
Pilots blame the pilots, engineers blame the Boeing engineers.
Good point. I also read this thread from the beginning and, to add another data point to the tendency you noticed, I'm a software engineer and I tend to blame Boeing more than the pilots. Boeing's attitude after the Lion Air accident contributed to that. If they didn't try to downplay the gravity of experiencing an incorrect MCAS activation, I would have probably been more sympathetic towards them.

Just like there seems to be a deficit of pilots in the aviation world, I think that generally there is a deficit of good software developers, and it's getting worse. I think the quality of software took a nosedive during the last decade. Software from a decade ago was way more polished than what I see today, and this is very frustrating.

Sure, just as the safety of air travel is getting better and better, a lot of lessons have been learned from the past in the software industry, and some types of bugs and quality issues are becoming less and less frequent. But there seems to be a lot less attention to detail, and I find it unbelievable that large software companies repeatedly release software products with significant bugs, that should are obvious to anyone after only a few minutes of using the product.