PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - LASER DC-3 crash in Colombia
View Single Post
Old 14th Mar 2019, 06:45
Blohm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by capngrog
DISCLAIMER DISCLAIMERDISCLAIMER I am not an expert on much of anything that really matters and am not current on any aircraft type.

A couple of decades ago, I was a designated Party to an NTSB investigation into the crash of a Cessna 205. The aircraft entered a spin at approximately 3,000 ft. AGL.This spin developed into a flat spin with a nearly vertical descent into a cultivated farm field.All aboard the aircraft were killed by the impact, and an ensuing fire consumed most of the fuselage.The wreckage array of the Laser DC-3 reminds me very much of the array of the wreckage of the C-205.Judging from the undisturbed crop rows in the immediate vicinity of the crash site, there was almost no lateral movement of the C-205 at impact.The photos of the DC-3 crash site reveal little or no terrain disturbance beyond the wreckage itself, indicating a vertical descent.Lack of longitudinal crushing of the fuselage, nacelles and wings indicate to me that the DC-3 impacted in a flat attitude.