PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Class 1 Medical - Mental Health
View Single Post
Old 6th Mar 2019, 17:02
Jordan199721

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by sethgecko
Hi Jordan,

It sounds like you went through many difficult events over a short period of time and I believe that a lot of us would have taken a hit to our mental health if we went through everything you did. From what you have posted it appears that you were able to seek help, were successfully treated and have made a full recovery so well done! you have gone on to pass your PPL exams which is great also!

I am not a medical professional so it would not add any value for me to discuss your particular circumstances but I would like to share my experience of an AME referral to a Psychiatrist (which i attended yesterday) in the hope that this may help put your mind at rest or give you an indication of what to expect.

I received a referral to a Psychiatrist after my AME reviewed my completed forms at the initial examination. I had 3 recorded instances on my GP records of work related stress, depression and low mood and had listed these on the form. I obtained a letter from my GP which detailed the symptoms of these 3 instances including the treatment I received. As this was nearly 5 years ago my GP also stated on the letter that I had been successfully treated and had that it would appear that I have been symptom free for the past 5 years. I have indeed been symptom free for this time and made a full recovery but as the GP has not seen me in 5 years I expect he chose the wording of 'appear'. Anyway, I presented my GP letter to my AME at my Class 1 and his response came across as negative (well from my perception) and he pointed out that i would certainly need to be referred to a Psychiatrist and he referenced the Germanwings incident. I was expecting this and fully understand the reasons for an investigation but like yourself the AME's reaction did not fill me with confidence.