PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Newbie & Flying Training Advice (Merged)
View Single Post
Old 24th Jul 2018, 10:40
cxausflyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello everyone,

I'm currently a Year 11 student studying in the Sydney region, and taking high level mathematics and physics at school. I was wondering if there is any up to date information on the best flight schools around Sydney, as I do not currently have any flying experience whatsoever. A majority of the recommendations were provided many years ago, and I'm not sure if the instructors are still working or have maintained the same quality of service. I do not mind travelling to rural areas of NSW, as long as the drive isn't unreasonably long (5 Hours +).

I plan to complete a University degree after graduating from high school, whilst beginning to take up self-funded flying to obtain my PPL and CPL. My end goal is to become a Commercial Airline Pilot. However, unlike many people here I do not plan on remaining in Australia and pursuing a career with Virgin Australia / Qantas / Jetstar, unless I successfully gain entry into the airline through Virgin Australia's Cadetship (Highly Competitive) or the new Qantas Flight School that's opening their doors the year I graduate High School.

I'm not sure if the Qantas Flight School guarantees employment after high level performance as they plan to train 500+ pilots a year once operating at full capacity, and I'm not particularly keen on having an unnecessary $150,000 debt if it does not guarantee me employment in the end and can be done for much cheaper. I plan to head over to Asia, preferably Hong Kong (I'm from Hong Kong) and fly for an airline based there instead such as Cathay Pacific.