PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Help researching 1961 Electra crash
View Single Post
Old 1st Jan 2018, 03:12
cordwainer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I don't know what your experience might be involving bureaucracy and the shedding of responsibility...
Well, 37 years of working with various government agencies for purposes of both research and reporting, ranging from the EPA to local regulatory bodies in multiple states, including CA [shudder], to the NIH. Including reviewing reams of data all the time as well. And, as you might have noted, the ability actually to research the existence of available archived records, beyond just asking one or two people then taking their word for it that those records don't exist. You know: professional research, which is part of what I do for a living, as opposed to the amateur version, which you're doing.

Sorry to be snarky, but there are some things where my expertise is, in fact, greater than yours, and so forgive me if I cop a little attitude here at what seemed a rather condescending comment, though I realize that was unintentional on your part.

The CAB wants legitimacy for their investigation, so they invoke the Lockheed name in their report to give weight to their guesses.
So did they also "invoke" the Lockheed name to "give weight to their guesses" about the aileron boost unit, in noting that it "was given a complete disassembly and inspection at the Lockheed Aircraft Corporation, Burbank, California"? Did they just toss Lockheed's name to give themselves legitimacy when they note later they "requested Lockheed Aircraft Corporation to perform certain ground tests" to check for the possibility of wing flap interference? Did they simply make up everything they claim Lockheed did to make it all sound good?