PPRuNe Forums

Go Back   PPRuNe Forums > Wannabes Forums > Interviews, jobs & sponsorship
Forgotten your Username/Password?


Interviews, jobs & sponsorship Do ya feel lucky, Punk? Well do ya? If so, here's the place to swap the hot gen on who's sponsoring or employing, their selection criteria, and where those oh so elusive first jobs can be spotted in the wild. Watch out for the tumbleweeds...


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd Jan 2012, 13:15   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Prague
Age: 24
Posts: 35
Merpati Nusantara Airlines

Anyone going to apply for this job? They fly Xian MA60, this is the first time I hear about this airplane They are hiring 24 F/O and you have to self sponsor TR.
noox89 is offline   Reply
Old 2nd Jan 2012, 13:19   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mumbai,India
Age: 24
Posts: 15
Opportunity or Scam

Just got the e-mail from them. Maybe it's a good idea for now to kick-start. but i want more confirmations since they asking for 24K upfront.
wellwisher is offline   Reply
Old 2nd Jan 2012, 13:27   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Prague
Age: 24
Posts: 35
It should be a local commuter. Pretty large fleet though, I will apply as well. But I will need some kind of assurance before I pay
noox89 is offline   Reply
Old 2nd Jan 2012, 21:33   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Victoria
Posts: 115
Malaysians get first pick

If you didn't know Malaysian's get first pick and seeing as there are about 300 malaysian kids with a fATPL without a job the odds of you getting a spot are slim at best.

I was in Indonesia recently and can tell you the Airline is honest but as for the agent I don't know anyone who has dealt with him before. I do know he is an FO with an airline in the region.
tarmac12 is offline   Reply
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 10:18   #5 (permalink)


Probationary PPRuNer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 1
Merpati Ma60

Hello, i've recived the email yesterday and i'm still in doubt for paying the 200 USD.
What is the guaranty? if you pay you will have the place for screening?
Because if you go to the Merpati website there is no info about careers!!
ccm737 is offline   Reply
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 12:11   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Madrid
Age: 25
Posts: 46
How do you know the places arent filled allready

How do you know the places arent filled allready? Who is going to tell us when the 60 people have payed and not to send any more money?...
I could set up a skam like this in no time..
duncanidaho50 is offline   Reply
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 12:20   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E.U
Posts: 24
Hello Everyone,

If it's not too much trouble could someone message me the contact details for this programme.

The previous posts in another thread seemed to have been deleted and it had the relevant information i.e (email, requirements, documents)

Thank you for your time.
kestrel101 is offline   Reply
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 12:29   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: cyberspace
Posts: 174
so let me get this straight...

you're paying $200 for an assessment, but the airline is going to pick and choose out of that group who they want.

So it's a $200 interview fee.

Someone's making some money.
PosClimb is offline   Reply
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 14:29   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Asia
Age: 23
Posts: 14
hi kestrel, you can get the requirements at www dot flygosh dot com

Last edited by adeash; 3rd Jan 2012 at 15:49.
adeash is offline   Reply
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 14:33   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E.U
Posts: 24
Thank you Adeash, found them!!
kestrel101 is offline   Reply
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 15:13   #11 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: france
Age: 38
Posts: 8
cvflightdeck@gmail.com

Merpati airlines - are these guys operating from Jakarta?
fepilot is offline   Reply
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 15:54   #12 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: EU
Posts: 437
Not sure I'd trust any company who can't even buy a proper e-mail address.
pudoc is offline   Reply
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 17:58   #13 (permalink)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Spain
Age: 28
Posts: 41
Same for me. Received the email yesterday but, honestly, i dont trust the agent. Too far though to make the step and risk if it's really a true interview.
josemarb is offline   Reply
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 19:20   #14 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MIAMI
Posts: 70
I think we can trust them, in fact I´ve seen pictures from one of the convoatories they did.

Sounds like they have ordered like 20 planes, so trying to make money but at the same time is limited to 60 persons, I think.

Trying to know more about it..
JLMF is offline   Reply
Old 4th Jan 2012, 04:23   #15 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 11
@ ccm737, PosClimb

Even I had the same doubt about the 200$ fee
I mailed them back to be honest about the program
there might be some hidden terms..

200$ times 60 = 12000$

someone's not making some money.. huge..
prax687 is offline   Reply
Old 4th Jan 2012, 04:40   #16 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Victoria
Posts: 115
There is a proper address

Merpati does have a proper HR dept and most new joiners have simply shown up to the office in Jakarta and handed in a Resume. You could wait a week or 6 months but they have been recruiting walk in's for a while now. No 24k up front either.

Emailing HR will not get you a response anyway. Your best solution is to email the guy and ask if he has filled his quota yet. You must remember that the $200 is just to hand in an application. It doesn't guarantee you and interview. He could take money off 500 people to get his 60 apps.

Also with Merpati you don't get paid until checked to line and that can take months.
tarmac12 is offline   Reply
Old 4th Jan 2012, 04:48   #17 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: 'nam
Posts: 1,377
I worked as an instructor with a bunch of Merpati cadets back in the 90s ... we had 35 cadets per year attending the school, over 3 years we trained a total of 105 guys. I have never ever seen such a circus in my entire life.

By the end of the 3rd year, 3 cadets from year 1 were dead back in Indonesia, and also 1 from year 2 ...

There is no amount of money on this earth that could make me pax on Merpati. And parents if it is your son or daughter reading this and considering applying for this job, and if you value your kids' lives, then lock them up and do not let them near the place.
Luke SkyToddler is offline   Reply
Old 4th Jan 2012, 07:29   #18 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 11
Its the same Agency which recruited for sriwijaya earlier now doing it for Merpati it earlier mentioned preferences would be for malaysian citizens but they welcomed all..

A question triggered up for other nationals & this was mentioned in a blogsite could it be the malaysians in majority who making it up to siriwijaya..??

Also the agency listed FATPL as a minimum criteria but accepted applications from those who didn't posses FATPL and took away 500RM from each applicant..
why did they accept? just to make money..???

there is no info on the sriwijaya results how many malaysians & other nationals
went in..

this seems to be little tricky..
prax687 is offline   Reply
Old 4th Jan 2012, 09:57   #19 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MIAMI
Posts: 70
Any more info?
JLMF is offline   Reply
Old 4th Jan 2012, 13:57   #20 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E.U
Posts: 24
I've been offered an interview for next week with them, I haven't paid anything yet.

The whole thing sounds a bit dodgy!! Booking a flight to Jakarta with 1 weeks notice = $$$

Anybody hear anything else

Thanks.
kestrel101 is offline   Reply
 
 
This ad will disappear if you login
Reply
 


Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 00:41.


vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
© 1996-2012 The Professional Pilots Rumour Network

As these are anonymous forums the origins of the contributions may be opposite to what may be apparent. In fact the press may use it, or the unscrupulous, or sciolists*, to elicit certain reactions.

*"sciolist"... Noun, archaic. "a person who pretends to be knowledgeable and well informed".