Go Back  PPRuNe Forums > Aircrew Forums > Rotorheads
Reload this Page >

From zero to CPL and FI: Cost in UK (Merged)

Wikiposts
Search
Rotorheads A haven for helicopter professionals to discuss the things that affect them

From zero to CPL and FI: Cost in UK (Merged)

Search this Thread

Old 15th Jul 2005, 15:34

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb From zero to CPL and FI: Cost in UK (Merged)

As a complete novice I have spent time searching for the info I need but I guess that ,just like anything else, you need to know where to look. Can anyone give me a realistic idea of how much I would need to spend to be able to fly helis as a profession? And if antone can help explain the numerous abreviations then I could at least communicate in the same language.
Old 15th Jul 2005, 15:41

Better red than ...

Call it £70,000 plus opportunity cost of lost income (if applicable)

That's to get to the entry gate.
Old 15th Jul 2005, 16:02
TheFlyingSquirrel

forget it - go fly a tin tube and get treated like a human - wading in **** and grease with the chance of the donkey dying and the machine sending you perilously to the ground, every five minutes - don't waste your time and money !

( how did I rate on the ' scaremonger scale ' lads? )

Old 15th Jul 2005, 17:21

Lots and lots of threads previously about this subject. The answer comes in two parts:

1. How much to get your licence; and

2. How long before I can get a job

The answer to the first would come from any of the local flying schools. The second answer depends on how much time (and therefore ££££££) you can put into finding a job. Not very easy but it is achieveable.

The £70,000 mentioned before is probably not far off the mark if you add up all the costs.

You have been brave to throw the question out to the forum and you will get some scaremongers here and there but stick at it - you will succeed.

But FlyingSquirrel is right - if you want the bucks, go for the airlines (but nowhere near as exciting)