Wikiposts
Search
Flight Testing A forum for test pilots, flight test engineers, observers, telemetry and instrumentation engineers and anybody else involved in the demanding and complex business of testing aeroplanes, helicopters and equipment.

ETPS Question

Search this Thread

Old 19th Aug 2004, 22:07

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ETPS Question

Does anybody know if you can get a Masters degree with the TP course at Empire?
Old 20th Aug 2004, 00:56

Master Degree in Flight Testing.

Hope so and if so it will mean I have a degree as a graduate of No 14 course way back in the 50s. There was no affiliation to any university in my day.

John Farley - do we have degrees.?
Old 20th Aug 2004, 04:12

I believe it counts 60 (?) points towards an OU Masters (although it should count for a LOT more!) - used to be 180 points for an OU Masters.

I can find out fairly easily and PM you (I did an OU Masters and have all the gen lying around somewhere).

Ray
Old 20th Aug 2004, 14:24

You can indeed get a masters degree from the course but it requires an extra 4 months or so's work whilst resident at Cranfield University to get it. If you are a Brit doing the course I doubt your would get permission from your new Sqn boss (be it RWTS, FJTS or HATS) to disappear for the time right at the start of your new post when someone has left for you to join. Besides that..another 4 months of aircraft dynamics stuff....not for me thanks!!
Old 20th Aug 2004, 20:58

Do a Hover - it avoids G

John Farley - do we have degrees.?
Milt

Not by graduating from ETPS.

But seriously what has graduating from a course like ETPS got to do with a 'degree'?

Being upside down you may not know that at present 43% of UK kids go to Uni and HMG is trying to make that 50%. What percentage of those do you feel would pass the FW or RW course? So why would you want a piece of paper that says you have reached the same level as 43% of todays youngsters let alone 50?

Have you no ambition Sir?
Old 21st Aug 2004, 13:30