rob_frost
18th June 2002, 15:09
I have been getting spam on a usaully completely spam free address, from the same company, for a few weeks now. Its annoying me. So I try to be clever. I look at the headers. I get what I think is the host ISP, and go to their website, find their abuse email address, and politely complain to them, including a full copy of the spam, including headers. They send back what looks vaguely like an autoresponse saying basically go away, the email header was forged.
I am rather new to this, but is that host isn't the ISP, then I have no idea what is. Here is the full copy.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Return-Path: <[email protected]>
Received: from 210.83.5.55 (HELO 209.99.226.105) (210.83.5.55) by mta559.mail.yahoo.com with SMTP; 17 Jun 2002 18:31:50 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from unknown (201.187.168.97) by smtp-server1.cfl.rr.com with QMQP; Jun, 18 2002 02:08:28 -0100
Received: from [130.91.58.120] by mta6.snfc21.pbi.net with SMTP; Jun, 18 2002 01:11:37 +0300
Received: from unknown (148.179.169.246) by rly-yk05.mx.aol.com with QMQP; Jun, 18 2002 00:05:34 -0800
Received: from 167.90.49.93 ([167.90.49.93]) by mailout2-eri1.midsouth.rr.com with esmtp; Jun, 17 2002 23:05:26 -0100
From: "UK Prank Calls" <[email protected]> | Block Address | Add to Address Book
To: Iloveukprankcalls@
CC:
Subject: Play a Hilarious Prank on Any UK phone
Sender: UK Prank Calls <[email protected]>
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
Date: Tue, 18 Jun 2002 02:31:56 +0100
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.00.2919.6700
Content-Length: 36
Please Visit http://ukprankcalls.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Naturally, I complained to the first recieved from, midsouth.rr.com , but they said it was forged. So how do I find the ISP? Or is it from midsouth.rr.com and they don't care?
Thanks for any help
I am rather new to this, but is that host isn't the ISP, then I have no idea what is. Here is the full copy.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Return-Path: <[email protected]>
Received: from 210.83.5.55 (HELO 209.99.226.105) (210.83.5.55) by mta559.mail.yahoo.com with SMTP; 17 Jun 2002 18:31:50 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from unknown (201.187.168.97) by smtp-server1.cfl.rr.com with QMQP; Jun, 18 2002 02:08:28 -0100
Received: from [130.91.58.120] by mta6.snfc21.pbi.net with SMTP; Jun, 18 2002 01:11:37 +0300
Received: from unknown (148.179.169.246) by rly-yk05.mx.aol.com with QMQP; Jun, 18 2002 00:05:34 -0800
Received: from 167.90.49.93 ([167.90.49.93]) by mailout2-eri1.midsouth.rr.com with esmtp; Jun, 17 2002 23:05:26 -0100
From: "UK Prank Calls" <[email protected]> | Block Address | Add to Address Book
To: Iloveukprankcalls@
CC:
Subject: Play a Hilarious Prank on Any UK phone
Sender: UK Prank Calls <[email protected]>
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
Date: Tue, 18 Jun 2002 02:31:56 +0100
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.00.2919.6700
Content-Length: 36
Please Visit http://ukprankcalls.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Naturally, I complained to the first recieved from, midsouth.rr.com , but they said it was forged. So how do I find the ISP? Or is it from midsouth.rr.com and they don't care?
Thanks for any help