PPRuNe Forums

Go Back   PPRuNe Forums > Misc. Forums > Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting
Forgotten your Username/Password?


Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. We will also try and help with troubleshooting any technical problems you may have with the forums.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st Sep 2012, 03:51   #1 (permalink)
Nemo Me Impune Lacessit
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 2,791
Text Enhance

Got this very irritating situation where, on certain pages of text in the browser, for no obvious reason, random words are in blue and underlined making them links, they lead to very annoying adverts etc. The company, Text Enhance claim they are not a virus but are there because the website owners have agreed to them being there.

Anyone know how to stop them please?
parabellum is online now   Reply
Old 1st Sep 2012, 06:20   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: YMML
Posts: 612
I'd hazard a guess that it's almost certainly not a web site based thing but is actually a browser plug-in/extension/add-on.

While this page relates to Google Chrome the list of names to look for is relevant: http://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/chrome/_UkMuA-jJ5Y
le Pingouin is offline   Reply
Old 1st Sep 2012, 07:44   #3 (permalink)
Per Ardua ad Astraeus
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 16,895
Ain't Google wunnerfull?

How To Remove Text Enhance Spam And Malware/Adware Hover Text Links |
BOAC is online now   Reply
Old 1st Sep 2012, 10:53   #4 (permalink)
Nemo Me Impune Lacessit
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 2,791
Indeed, what a help it would be, if, after following the instructions to the letter the Add-On, Text Enhance actually showed up in the list offered, but it doesn't!

Would appreciate all offers of help please?
parabellum is online now   Reply
Old 1st Sep 2012, 14:54   #5 (permalink)
Per Ardua ad Astraeus
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 16,895
Which browser/s?
BOAC is online now   Reply
Old 1st Sep 2012, 15:11   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: .
Posts: 2,005
details about the software at Help Desk

It could be that the website is running the software, or that you have downloaded it to your PC
The company offer an opt-out service using a resident cookie on the machine - but I'd regard that as bad an intrusion as having the links

You MAY find that by browsing using Firefox with NoScript and AdBlock Plus enabled, the problem goes away
Also I'd hazard a guess that by placing the domain http://*.textsrv.com to the list of restricted sites in Internet Explorer you may be able to block it. Similarly also try editing the HOSTS file so the same domain resolves to 127.0.0.1

Finally, it would be well worth scanning the machine with Spybot S&D and Malwarebytes and see what they find. Could also be worth installing Spybot S&D and Spyware Blaster and enable all the blocking features - they'd probably stop it

Finally a Google search indicates that this program claims to clear it - but I don't know the company or software, so don't take this as a recommendation
Remove Text Enhance, Text Enhance Remover

Last edited by Milo Minderbinder; 1st Sep 2012 at 15:15.
Milo Minderbinder is offline   Reply
Old 1st Sep 2012, 20:36   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: YMML
Posts: 612
Did you have a look at the list of possible names for the add-on in the link BOAC provided?
le Pingouin is offline   Reply
Old 1st Sep 2012, 23:11   #8 (permalink)
Nemo Me Impune Lacessit
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 2,791
Followed the instructions in the link from BOAC to the letter. Using IE8.

Thanks Milo Bender, have placed http://*.textsrv.com in the blocked sites place and will follow some or all of the other suggestions, thanks to all who have responded.
parabellum is online now   Reply
Old 8th Sep 2012, 03:59   #9 (permalink)
Nemo Me Impune Lacessit
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 2,791
Well, blocking http://*testsrv.com didn't have any effect but I loaded Malwarebytes and the problem seems to have gone away!

I do get a notification that a certain website, described by DNS, has been blocked trying to interfere but that is all.

Thanks again all.
parabellum is online now   Reply
 
 
This ad will disappear if you login
Reply
 


Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35.


vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
© 1996-2012 The Professional Pilots Rumour Network

As these are anonymous forums the origins of the contributions may be opposite to what may be apparent. In fact the press may use it, or the unscrupulous, or sciolists*, to elicit certain reactions.

*"sciolist"... Noun, archaic. "a person who pretends to be knowledgeable and well informed".