PPRuNe Forums

Go Back   PPRuNe Forums > Non-Airline Forums > Biz Jets, Ag Flying, GA etc.
Forgotten your Username/Password?
Register FAQ Calendar Advertise Mark Forums Read

Biz Jets, Ag Flying, GA etc. The place for discussion of issues related to corporate, Ag and GA aviation. If you're a professional pilot and don't fly for the airlines then try here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th March 2009, 12:15   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London
Posts: 23
Directfly UK / Paul Crowther?

Hi

Just wondered if anyone had any info on this company?

Looks like they are set to commence ops any day...

Thanks
JP27
JP27 is offline   Reply
Old 30th March 2009, 13:01   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London
Posts: 23
mmm yes I know there are several comments out there and some of the history, hence the interest...

it seems they have several jets on their books, www.directflyuk.com
Citation II: SOVA and LUXY, previously with Planechartering and SOV - also with 247 jet?

CItation II JETO and Citation V JOPT, previously with Jet Options
Kingair 90: ORTH, previously with Planechartering
Directfly UK part of the Directfly Group with bases also in Warsaw and Milan. Also operates DA42 (Diamond Twinstar)
JP27 is offline   Reply
Old 30th March 2009, 13:18   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In Exile...
Posts: 113
AOC Question:

Can you operate G-reg aircraft commercially on a polish AOC? All seems remarkably fishy...
x933 is offline   Reply
Old 30th March 2009, 14:14   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London
Posts: 23
hmmm very good question...
JP27 is offline   Reply
Old 30th March 2009, 18:33   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Age: 27
Posts: 9
Why not ? It should be possible, the UK is part of the European Union, EASA, OPS 1, JAR-145 you name it and I think Poland is the same, so equiv. standards.

This sort of leases inside community is nothing extraordinary, there are plenty of airplanes operated on another EU register, just have a look for e.g. on the Irish register, I bet half of them are operated by foreign airlines EU and non EU members. This is nothing new and standard in commercial aviation for years already. May be not much utilized in Biz aviation though.
dl777jet is offline   Reply
Old 30th March 2009, 23:25   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portakabin
Posts: 83
ICAO Annex six transfer can be arranged for 6 months with a six month extension,
TMAB
themoonsaballoon is offline   Reply
Old 2nd April 2009, 10:55   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Surrey
Posts: 8
errr NO

dont even go there.........
office bod is offline   Reply
Old 2nd April 2009, 11:11   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 2,177
Link

No thread on this (these?) subjects would be complete without a link to the Club 328 thread. Wouldn't want anyone arriving here via Google to miss any details now would we?

Club 328 in trouble????
Flintstone is offline   Reply
Old 2nd April 2009, 15:01   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portakabin
Posts: 83
Office Bod

Quote; errr NO

dont even go there.........

for an Annex 6 transfer do you mean?

it's worked before it will work again!
TMAB
themoonsaballoon is offline   Reply
Old 10th April 2009, 12:06   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 65
Anybody with an ear to the ground at Biggin know what's happening with this bunch ? Apparently they've started quoting for charters.
FlyingGasMain is offline   Reply
Old 10th April 2009, 12:14   #11 (permalink)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: York, via Melbourne
Age: 34
Posts: 36
Are you serious?
AussieAndy is offline   Reply
Old 10th April 2009, 16:45   #12 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Bristol
Age: 40
Posts: 635
Andy

All true, Directfly are now quoting the aircraft from Biggin, saying that I have not yet seen any evidence that the Annex 6 lease is in place so tread very carefully. I had a conversation with a few brokers a couple of weeks ago when this first came to light, most have made the decision at board level not to offer his aircraft.

Phil
Phil Brockwell is offline   Reply
Old 10th April 2009, 23:28   #13 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In Exile...
Posts: 113
I seem to remember someone at directfly (relating to a performance limited airfield somewhere near London, relating to one of the G-Reg jets) saying:

"We can operate from there, we're not as restricted because we're on a Polish AOC"

Carpe Diem folks. Sadly i'm sure there's brokers out there that are prepared to use them given the "competetive" pricing...
x933 is offline   Reply
Old 14th April 2009, 14:22   #14 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 12
Paul Crowther and Direct Fly/Rent Jets.

How confusing, a Polish AOC oeprator with no jets listed on their AOC, only DA42's, yet as I look on Avinode I find a fleet of Citations offered for charter under Direct Fly's AOC, interesting!

Now when I delve deeper I see that to contact Direct Fly/Rent Jets postal address is AVTEC at Biggin Hill, just a drop PO BOX where mail is collected weekly, then I look to see where their accounts department is, all I have is a Bradford telephone number, even more oddly it is also the recption for the company. More strangely is that the head office is at Maritime House in Hove, the old Mitre Aviation/Plane Chartering hub.

So obviously Direct Fly and Rents Jets are already sending people on the run around but more disturbingly would you fly on one of these jets when they are not on an AOC.

http://www.caa.co.uk/docs/1196/20071...PRCampaign.pdf

The CAA take enormous fees from legitimate AOC operators who have to abide by the rules, so why are they oblivious and deliberately blind to this underhand operation being undertaken by PC.

I watch with interest.

Last edited by Yorkshire Airways : 15th April 2009 at 14:32.
Yorkshire Airways is offline   Reply
Old 4th June 2009, 03:28   #15 (permalink)
Probationary PPRuNer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: At home
Age: 33
Posts: 1
Any more info

Does anyone know any more information on this company? they are advertising for staff.
ei172 is offline   Reply
Old 5th June 2009, 21:57   #16 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Northern England
Posts: 47
Yorkshire Airways

Take another look your actually wrong over the Bradford connection. The accounts number is an 01273 not 01274 number making the correct location as Brighton.
Flyer2008 is offline   Reply
Old 5th June 2009, 22:11   #17 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 2,177
Brighton? Is he going after the pink pound then?
Flintstone is offline   Reply
Old 7th June 2009, 08:58   #18 (permalink)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Age: 27
Posts: 9
A few weeks ago I received a copy of AOC from a friend of mine of Direct Fly in Poland and now the UK reg airplanes type Citation II and King Air are listed on their AOC. My friend who is flying for them told me that the lease is long term, around 5-10 years and that Direct Fly is currently leasing more G-Reg Citation II airplanes.

I guess Direct Fly is pioneering in operating G-Reg airplanes out of their Poland base, having all EU rights to operate freely within the EU and beyond.
dl777jet is offline   Reply
Old 28th June 2009, 19:03   #19 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 12
Bradford

Yes I too see that proof reading the website of 01274 caused the change by the web master to move the code to 01273 obviouly chasing the pink pound!
Yorkshire Airways is offline   Reply
Old 30th June 2009, 18:12   #20 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 65
So is he making any money then ? If so, maybe I can go round his house and request he pays me the month's salary and expenses he still owes me from last year.
FlyingGasMain is offline   Reply
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes


Posting Rules
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7
© 1996-2009 The Professional Pilots Rumour Network

As these are anonymous forums the origins of the contributions may be opposite to what may be apparent. In fact the press may use it, or the unscrupulous, or sciolists*, to elicit certain reactions.

*"sciolist"... Noun, archaic. "a person who pretends to be knowledgeable and well informed".