PDA

View Full Version : Poor School Grades

Jeffrey S
20th Aug 2003, 17:26
Hi,

Just wondering if you could help

i am a student PPL (22yrs) and wondering whether it is necessary to go back to school to do my GCSE's again as i got grade D's in every one of them. Its not that i am not capable, its because i got into a bad crowd during my final year at school and ended up messing up my chances of doing my "a" levels (im sure some have you have done this...wem not all perfect) and chances of getting into the air. after a few years life experience, i have now decided to go the whole way stage by stage. i have sold my house and retained enough money to do my PPL/IMC/Night/CPL IR ect ect but i am wondering if even after all this i woudlnt get a job because of my bad school grades?

Should i quit flying for now and go to college (bearing in mind i work full time) or should i keep flying and see what happens.

Please help!

regards

JS
(Sorry if any spelling mistakes)

Thank you very much for your reply, much app'd

I forgot to mention - its not much but i have a few small quals (city & guilds, nvqs ect in electronics)

apologies to the moderator for the duplications too

AIRWAY
20th Aug 2003, 18:06
Hi There,

Have you thought of Distance Learning GCSE's ? That way you can work, study and fly...

Regards

Jeffrey S
20th Aug 2003, 18:09
hello there

many thanks for your reply.

i havent actually, thats a good idea, is it worth me doing them again do you think?

AIRWAY
20th Aug 2003, 18:37
Hi,

Yes i think it is worth it, i am a PPL student as well also working full time and im 21, i will be re-taking 1 GCSE via distance learning, if you can dedicate at least 3 hours per week to the GCSE study then it should be no problem at all... Anything else just drop me a PM.

Good Luck

Hulk Hogan
20th Aug 2003, 18:42
I left school at 15 with no qualifications at all. I'm now flying a 737. Funded all the ATPL's myself.

df1
20th Aug 2003, 18:46
Jeff,