PDA

View Full Version : Should airline pilots wear hats?

corner speed
9th Aug 2003, 08:26
I'm a pilot for a major airline in the US.
My airline is considering doing away with our uniform hat
and making it optional for the individual pilot to wear.
I'm all for it. Any thoughts from my colleagues overseas?:ok:

WestWind1950
9th Aug 2003, 12:16
My ex-husband, pilot with Lufthansa, looked ridiculous with his hat on so he usually carried it under his arm. Once a check captain insisted he put it on his head where it belonged, looked at him and allowed him to continue to carry it under his arm instead! :p
Whenever he got a new one, he put it in the shower and tried to make it look used and he had me sew down the sides so the wouldn't stick up so much.

What are they good for anyway? And is it true that hats have been re-introduced for some stewardesses? ... eh, sorry, "cabin attendants" :E

http://www.click-smilie.de/sammlung/aktion/action-smiley-072.gif Westy

crundale
9th Aug 2003, 15:11
So we're supposed to believe you pilots work hard and suffer enormous stress and deserve the huge salaries because your jobs are SOOOOOOO demanding???
And really, all you worry about, is do i look good in my hat.
Send $50 to charity, say two hail marys, and get a grip.
:p :D

leftseatview
9th Aug 2003, 15:52
The fact that i have lost a lot of hair the last 15 years that i have been an airline pilot,might partly explain my pay packet.
But i sure need to wear a hat when i do a walk around of the machine out in the sun/rain
Giving an option is a good idea.
But airlines still need to retain a Uniform Cap for folks like me,cos i would sure look silly wearing a baseball cap with my uniform.

square leg
9th Aug 2003, 16:06
The most probable answer I can think of is that the hat makes one stand out as a pilot. You can see pilots from miles when they walk with their hats on in terminal buildings.