PDA

View Full Version : BA 747 Emergency Exits - 8 not 10

The Phoenix Rises
4th Aug 2003, 05:25
Could someone please assist ?

I am trying to clarify and confirm:

a) that BA does or did operate 747's with 2 of the 10 emergency exits closed off. I think this was on its Jumbo's other than the 400's;

b) when BA stopped operating any Jumbo's with this configuration, i.e. when BA stopped flying Jumbo's with only 8 exits operational.

Many thanks to you folks for your assistance on this. I am a student at PPL and this matter has come up just as a discussion point.

TPR

Mode7
4th Aug 2003, 05:37
a) No, not any more
b) When the 747-236's retired

The Phoenix Rises
4th Aug 2003, 05:54
Hi Mode7:

Thanks.

When were the 747-236's retired?

TPR

gas path
4th Aug 2003, 06:22
A couple of years ago!
The door 3 was locked out after Boeing and the FAA/CAA said that evacuation tests proved satisfactory. KLM (I believe) was another operator that went down the same route. One of the other reasons was the poor performance of the slide arrangement. The classic had a two piece slide, a door operated ramp and an off wing slide, the off wing slide being stored under a wing/body fairing and therefore subject to wide temp. differences, it was deployed using small cable operated thrusters (pyrotechnic cartridges).
The -400 series has all 10 doors on the main deck fully operational and has a much better (simpler!) one piece slide arrangement, stored on the door.

moo
4th Aug 2003, 06:23