PDA

View Full Version : Bush Flying

WelshFlyer
14th Jul 2003, 06:58
Hi all,
I'm a student pilot doing a CPL/iR in north Wales. I would love to go into bush flying when I get my CPL. I'm used to flying 'round mountains and valleys - take a look at a map of north Wales! :)

I can't stand the idea of flying a 737 and my dream aircraft is a DH Bever. What's the possibility of me bush flying in Canada? It's a beutiful country, and from what i have seen on the 'net and videos, it is quite like the landscapes I fly 'round every weekend.

Do you have any advice - I can't seem to find any info on the 'net. Also what ratings should I do? I'll probably do a seaplane rating, but is there anything else I need?

Thanks,

WelshFlyer. :)

YYZ to POS
14th Jul 2003, 09:47
Hey, check out this site...www.avcanada.ca
It's a very popular Canadian pilot forum. Check it out!
I'm under the alias airline_destiny in that site...
Later

Finals19
15th Jul 2003, 05:44
WF,

You want mountains and bush - come to BC! Best times are probably late Aug early Sept...north of the city is bush / mountain paradise, with the Cascades and Coast mountains rising up to the 10,000ft (+!) mark...its full on mountain flying tho (not trying to belittle the welsh mountains of course!) and any club you rent from will almost definitely insist on a mountain check of about 2 hrs (a very good idea!) This is fun though, and if you are lucky you might even get to do a bush landing (search for "tipella" as a BC airport! - 2500ft of dirt carved out of a forest surrounded by mountain walls!)

I suggest you think about places to rent around Vancouver - Boundary Bay airport is perfect for this - www.czbb.com

Check out the place I train at - which has good a/c availability

www.pacificflying.com

Cheers, Finals!:ok:

WelshFlyer
15th Jul 2003, 06:12