PDA

View Full Version : Want to get my PPL - any ideas?

sophia
31st May 2003, 21:15
Hi,
I currently work in the pharmaceutical industry and want to obtain my PPL (with the intention of, one day, obtaining my ATPL).

I would like to get my PPL by the end of the year (as cheap as possible)

I have a few hours flying experience in Cessna 152.

Going overseas appears to be the best option, but I'm a bit overwhelmed at the mo, not sure where to go!

I've got exactly 26 days annual leave left(including weekends) in 2003 and would like to take it off in August - could I get my PPL in this space of time and where would be the best place go?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Soph

[email protected]

ratsarrse
31st May 2003, 21:39
I went through a similar period of indecision myself. The options seem to be go to Florida (or similar) and do an intensive 4 week PPL, or stay in the UK, and spend more money and time getting your PPL.
I opted to stay in the UK. I reasoned that if you did your PPL abroad, you would still have to have an hour or more with an instructor for the purposes of club check out, getting used to UK procedures, getting used to UK weather. I think that the intensive PPL would be quite hard work - you would do well to get some or all of the exams out of the way before starting. Once committed to the 4 week intensive course, what happens if you find that you don't like it/can't get on with the instructors?
Just my opinion here, but I think you'd be better off doing your PPL over a longer period of time at say Nottingham or East Midlands (you'll benefit from the radio work at EMA!), then look at doing some of the more advanced stuff and hours building in the States or South Africa.
As for being a bit overwhelmed - well that's another good reason to start slowly at first! Have a couple of trial flights and chat with the instructors about your plans and ideas - I'm sure that you'll be better placed to decide after that.

Keygrip