PDA

View Full Version : New Pilots Security Checks

prat100_2000
8th May 2003, 21:32
I have been informed that the CAA now requires police checks to be done on all commercial pilots. I understand there to be a list of curtain areas that they need to know about. Terrorist convictions probably. As a potential commercial pilot I recently picked up a police caution(not terrorist related obviously) which I understand not to be a conviction. I trust this act of stupidity will not bar me from passing this new certification. Does anybody know where I can check this or does anybody know the answer.

Yours rather stupid boy

tom775257
8th May 2003, 23:48
Apparently the CID checks out PPLs also. I was interested a while back about PPL’s getting airside access without background checks, I spoke to the owner of the flight school I fly from, he suggested that the police ‘request’ (read: require) a list of pilots at the club. I am sorry I can’t help you with your question, however it would seem illogical if a caution prohibits you from a CPL, unless perhaps it was drug related.

Notso Fantastic
9th May 2003, 00:17
Lifted from the private BALPA and not attributed as the original contributor would probably not like his name bandied about! So check this lot against your record and let's all pray for protection from Politicians and Civil Servant jobsworths:

OFFENCES AGAINST THE PERSON
Speeding in expensive German automobiles

Offences against the Person Act 1861

Child Abduction Act 1984

Administering chloroform

Administering poison so as to endanger life

Administering poison

Assault occasioning actual bodily harm

Attempting to choke

Causing bodily injury by explosives

Child Abduction

Child destruction

Cruelty to person under 16

Endangering safety of railway passengers

False imprisonment

Ill treatment of mental patients

Kidnapping

Manslaughter

Murder

Attempted Murder

Sending explosive substance with intent

Soliciting to murder

Threats to kill