PDA

View Full Version : Engine fails, forced landing Ok, now what?

Thumpango
27th Apr 2003, 22:43
Having read the current interesting thread on engine failures and having practiced several PFLS, I can't help but think what happens after the landing, apart of course from the exhilaration of finding yourself/pax and plane still in one piece!?

So, imagine the following scenario:

I am a student and the flying school has sent me on a solo cross country exercise.

All is going to plan...then it all goes horribly quiet! Best glide speed maintained and initial checks made followed by emergency forced landing procedure, nice big green field spotted but appears to have some sort of short crop growing.
This, however, makes a gentle cushion for the successfull landing and after radioing that I am down safely and evacuating I observe with some pride that the line of the crushed crop lays witness to the straight and accurate landing made.

Out of the corner of my eye I notice a tractor heading my way, it appears that farmer Giles doesn't seem as happy about my landing as I am!!
After expressing his relief that I am safe, compensation for the damaged crop is obviously going to be an issue.

What happens now?

1) I assume any compensation and recovery claim is covered under the school's insurance?
2) I assume I should notify my school and the local police asap.
3) I assumeI will need to write a report

Do I assume too much?

Guidance on this theoretical situation would be helpful at this stage- in case it really does happen!

Many thanks!

FNG
27th Apr 2003, 23:02