PDA

View Full Version : OAT APP Selection process

tessamurray
3rd Apr 2003, 05:41
I'm looking for some advice about the OAT APP selection process. I'm hoping to visit Oxford later this month to go through selection...has anyone been already that can anyone tell me what happens? I've read the info about Aer Lingus and BA selection so was wondering how it differed to that. I'm a complete novice to these things and am coming over from the US to attend this...so really would like as much info as possible to give it my best shot. Any help appreciated...cheers.

tess.

oxford blue
3rd Apr 2003, 14:39
You may find this (http://www.oxfordaviation.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=548) link helpful.

There is also quite a lot of other useful information on the website.

P T Flea
3rd Apr 2003, 20:58
Yes I have been through the selection process and was offered a place. Haven't accepted the place yet.

The selection details can all be found on the link in the post above.

Although Oxford do require people on the course (which will hence affect the entry standards to some degree) I would not take the selection process lightly. It is a thorough process that the staff at OAT are taking very seriously.

The computer based COMPASS tests are indeed taxing but should be no problem if you've got the right kind of attributes for a future pilot.

The team building is closely watched by a panel of 3 staff and when I went there was 6 candidates.

The interview is on a 2 on 1 basis. Usually someone from the selection department and someone from head of training.

The sim ride was fun, but also taxing. They vary the difficulty dependant upon your experience. They will ask you to perform certain turns/climbs/rates of climb and talk to you ask you questions, mental arithmetic at the same time.

I would say although they need to fill the places they probably won't hesitate in turning you down if you don't appear to take the selection seriously or you're crap.

PT

foghorn
3rd Apr 2003, 21:42