PDA

View Full Version : Sunglasses/Shades...what are favourites and why?

TALUFTEN
20th Mar 2002, 02:45
There are so many manufacturers of sunglasses and even more pairs of shades from which to. .choose. From the classic Ray-Ban G-15 to Maui-Jim, Oakley, and Sundog etc etc. What are your. .favourites and why? I realize that it is really a personal preference, but , since there is really too. .great a selection for any one person to narrow it down on one's own I ask for your opinions in. .hopes of selecting that perfect pair of sunglasses....for the time being. . .(Moderators: I wasn't certain into which forum I should add this topic so feel free to move it.)

Jetgate
20th Mar 2002, 05:09
Taluften, pasted below is a thread which I'd saved from PPRuNe many moons ago. Hoping one day, when I have some spare cash, to use this info....... .. .Shades. .. .Post 1. hey dudes... I gotta pair of Ray Ban Chromax shades that Ive been wearing for about 3 years now. After all this time at flightschool and working out in the bush they are bent, chipped and a bit double jointed, but still provide excellent viewing.. .Smoke, haze layers I cant spot easily through scratched cockpit windows in early morning light conditions are much much clearer and easily seen with them on.. .Also great for the glare out here inna bush.. .That said...apparently some sort of comparitive test was done and our beloved Ray Bans are not as sh*t hot as we would like to believe...'tis said they offer of the lowest levels of UV protection to be found... gasp, could this be true !?!. .I'm now looking for some snazzy Oakley's , they are , methinks, high quality, have good optics, offer good protection ballisticly and UV wise, and just as importante...a pair of Oakley X-Metals with Gold IRidium lenses are too cool, man. Never mind the mutt, were talking the lion's nuts, bru !! . .. .Post 2. Ray Bans are great but the green lens ones make the FMC a little difficult to read! Oakley Juliets are my personal choice.