PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice on my plans

ILOVEYWG
21st Mar 2003, 05:06
I just have a few questions. I'll keep them short and sweet.

1. I'm 17 years old and have started flight training in September of last year. What is a good age to start at so that you may get to fly for a big airline in 12 years?

2. Diploma or degree? Does it matter which university or college? (Big or small. Does not matter if its more or less reconized as long as their all accretted?) Does it matter which diploma or degree? (No, I'm not going to be a doctor and a pilot at the same time. I plan on only focusing on aviation because its really my only interest. I'd be wasting my time on a degree I have no interest in and on something I hope to never use.)

3. If I got my high school diploma through doing the GED test (rather than actualy completing high school the old fashion way,) will a big airline recognize that?

4. Here's my plan so far. After I finish school (or passing my GED) I plan on working for a year to earn up some $$$ so that I can go to a local flying school that has a program where you can get a BA of science in aviation through a stay at home course (online) with the Utah Valley State College. I would be doing all my flight training at the same time (everything except the privates and night rating because I am already close to getting them) while hopefully, I can continue working at my job at our airport. The flying school I would be going to uses the same airport I work at. It works out nice because its close to home, get to keep my job, and it will cost less $$$. After I get my degree and finish the flight training, I was hoping to fly bush or something until I could move up to a bigger air company, then eventually an even bigger airline company. Now of course this isn't signed in blood, but how does that plan sound? Mostly the university part?