PDA

View Full Version : IMC Question

Easy226
5th Mar 2003, 20:51
Hi everyone, i am currently studying for my PPL and i'm looking to go on to commercial flying (eventually). I was wondering if you have an IMC. rating , will you be creditied with some flying hours and ground training towards the Instrument Rating course?? If not, is there any benefit from gaining an IMC for another 2-3 grand on the bill?!
Many Thanks
Dan

flyer4life
5th Mar 2003, 22:00
Easy226,

I remember reading about this last year on the CAA website. There used to be a 15 hour credit towards the IR if you had an IMC on an old UK licence but not if you had a JAA licence... yeah, another crazy rule but there you go.

Even if you had a UK licence now, the right to claim the credit for the IR ended last June if I remember correctly. There was never any credit for ground training.

Now this is the case, I see little point in paying for dual time training for an IMC if you're going to take the full fATPL training pretty soon. I'm sure others will disagree though, particularly the training schools!

Getting a non-JAA IR from an ICAO country (eg. USA) is an option to save money and have a jolly abroad. Then you'll just have to do 15 hours JAA IR training, which I found more than enough to get used to the different procedures in the UK.

Of course, you'll have to take the JAA IR exams too.

tmmorris
6th Mar 2003, 07:27
Agree it's crazy. The IMC and IR have now become either/or options - it seems that they don't really want PPL/IRs any more, since the IR training requirements are so heavily geared towards full-time professional courses.

Personally I'd love to do an IR but couldn't justify the cost compared to the IMC rating (I've got my IMC test today so think of me this afternoon!)

Tim

FlyingForFun
6th Mar 2003, 09:51
Agree with the answers so far. Except that there is one case where an IMC is useful in getting an IR.

Step 1: get an IMC rating.