PDA

View Full Version : owning a kit plane you didn't build yourself

GeneralMelchet
27th Jan 2003, 14:53
I would like to buy a half/nearly finished Europa Kit plane.Basically to save some time on the build but still to finish the aircraft to my spec/taste.I have seen a number in the Pilot/Flyer mags and on the web recently.

The kits I have seen for sale have most of the composite work done but need the engine,electrics and instruments installed

Can anyone tell me what would the PFA's attitude be to someone taking over the build of a kit ? Would I still be able to perform the maintainance?I have no kit plane experience but I am an engineer and am reasonably mechanically compitent.

Windy Militant
27th Jan 2003, 15:12
Get in touch with PFA engineering at shoreham. But beware when buying a part completed kit. Be absolutly sure that all the work done to that point has been properly signed off. I've heard of a couple of cases where the reason for selling was sub standard workmanship and the airframe written off before completion. PFA Contacts (http://www.pfa.org.uk/contact.asp) ;)

stiknruda
27th Jan 2003, 22:08
GM - Windy's post is pretty spot on.

Speak to the guys at Shoreham, I know them all and can guarantee that you will be heard and that your queries will not be the first that they have heard. Best to have a list of questions at hand and know the PFA build #before you ring them, though.

6 yrs ago I bought a box of unrecognisable parts and now fly it!
The pfa deputy chief engineer was/is excellent as are the rest of the team.

Stik

Genghis the Engineer
27th Jan 2003, 23:07
A handful of semi-technical points.

- Often you'll find a builder has started with the cockpit, which may hamper your customisation options.

- It's not unusual for projects to change hands several times before they finally fly. Just keep Shoreham in the loop and your PFA membership current and all will be sweetness and light.