PDA

View Full Version : Survey: ATC English language policy for various countries

ryu2
11th Dec 2002, 12:03
Hi all, I'm a student and currently investigating ATC language issues as part of a report on cross-language interaction issues, and interested in seeing how various countries approach it.

Specifically, I am wondering, what the language policy for various countries (which are not native English speaking countries) are with regards to using English in ATC comms: is it only to be used, or is the native language also allowed to be used? If you're a pilot, what has been your observation flying around various country's airspaces and listening to the radio?

For example, I know that Japan and Hong Kong speak English only and Mainland China speaks English and Chinese.

How about other Asian countries, like Korea? And Europe, Africa, and Latin America?

If you have knowledge, please share it here. Thanks!

BDiONU
11th Dec 2002, 15:26
I was quite interested to note, whilst controlling at the Dusseldorf Area Control Centre (Clutch Radar) (due to ye olde radar at EDUO giving up the ghost) that the native German controllers spoke English to the aircraft and to each other on console. Off console it was German!

ModernDinosaur
11th Dec 2002, 20:44
My (admittedly very limited) experience is that French ATC speak in English to pilots who make their inital call in English but French to those who call in French. Does wonders for your situational awareness. Not.

MD.

Fox3snapshot
12th Dec 2002, 00:08
English is the international language for ATC, however.......