PDA

View Full Version : Control Tower

dfearns
27th Oct 2002, 17:21
Hi!
I have a BIG interest in being an ATC operator, i was wondering what the chances would be of going into a control tower, and seeing first hand how it all works.
If anybody knows anyone who could help me, could they please tell me, or if they think this type of thing is completly impossible, then tell me aswell!!!

thanks.

:)

FWA NATCA
27th Oct 2002, 20:31
dfearns,

First of all it would depend on where you are at, then it would depend on the facility policy about visitors.

In the US you must be a US citizen, and there must be prior approval from the manager. If you are a foreigner, then you have to jump through a few more hoops that can take as long as three weeks before you can get an approval for a visit.

Mike

niknak
27th Oct 2002, 21:02
Try contacting (write to) Chris Kelly, Air Traffic Services Manager at Liverpool John Lennon Airport, (which appears to be the closest airport to you).
I know that at this stage you just want to visit, and not necessarily a job, but first impressions are very important.

Start off by telling him that you want to be an AIR TRAFFIC CONTROLLER not OPERATOR.
It wouldn't hurt to list your achievements to date, educational qualifications/asperations and why you want to be an atco.
They're a pretty civilised bunch in ATC, and I'm sure that Chris will organise something for you if he think's you're worth it.

Liverpool train their own staff (usually ATC assistants) to become ATCO's, the majority of them being local, but please don't underestimate the competition for places, or the very hard work involved during the training.

Dan Dare
29th Oct 2002, 21:55
I have never knowingly heard a scouse ATCO or pilot. I would guess that there are rules against such things. Odd that the rules don't seem to preclude Brummies though...

spekesoftly
30th Oct 2002, 10:17
Remind me where our PPRuNe leader hails from? :rolleyes:

Dan Dare
30th Oct 2002, 11:46