PDA

View Full Version : Pre FIC course requirements

GoneWest
17th Oct 2002, 20:31
Give 'us yer opinion on an argument, would'ya??

One person says that to attend an FIC course as a student in order to gain an FI(R) rating you must have passed all the commercial written examinations (as per a CPL wannabe).

Same person also wears blind it says so in LASORS and JAR FCL1.

The FIC instructor (who is also an FIE) says - with reference to his own examiners handbook) - that this is not the case, and you can attend the course, and have an FI(R) added to your PPL, without sitting the writtens. (Of course, you could not be paid for tuition given).

Your opinion...or interpretation of the rules???

juggernaut
17th Oct 2002, 21:26
Your FIC instructor is correct, CPL knowledge is only required if you wish to fly for hire and reward. I am an FIC instructor and I have never yet met anyone who is willing to do 100 hours p1, 200TT and pay upwards of £5000 to do a course, at least 5 weeks off work and then not be able to be paid for their efforts, as for Lasors, there are many mistakes in this manual and the examiners handbook is correct, anyone actually know of any PPL instructors?

GoneWest
17th Oct 2002, 23:40
Interesting - I am aware of two owners of U.S. flight schools who asked to have an FI(R) rating added to their PPL's - both were told, by the CAA, that they had to have passed all the writtens.

One attended a distance leraning and brush up course with Oxford - the other started with PPSC (just before they went bust).

The first of those two - has spent in the region of US$25,000 (twenty five thousand dollars) to gain the qualification as a JAA FI(R)...which includes the mandatory written exams (though he also did a JAA professional licence as a result).

GoneWest
18th Oct 2002, 11:43
Just had two e-mails arrive - one from the CAA and one from an FIC establishment...........both say that you DO need to do the written exams.