View Full Version : Concorde ATC


Captain Rat
5th Sep 2002, 03:37
Question; Why lately when Concorde departs LHR it uses 09L while everything else is using 09r. I presume it is to do with a noise issue?



HEATHROW DIRECTOR
5th Sep 2002, 07:52
It's because 09R/27L is too bumpy for it.. (and several other a/c too)

BLK 33
5th Sep 2002, 14:17
What other a/c is it too "bumpy" for then?

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
5th Sep 2002, 15:24
I don't know precisely.. all I do know is that when I last worked the tower had us provide several gaps in the landing stream on 09L for several departures departures. I know of no other reason why those a/c would use 09L given the conditions at the time... and the punitive noise restrictions on that runway.

Over to you Keefy....

ATCO Two
5th Sep 2002, 16:53
Well Bren,

There has been a reduced takeoff distance from 09R recently due to problems at the threshold, requiring aircraft to depart from the Block 100/102 stopbar. Also traffic from the South has to line up from the Block 100 loop. A Virgin A340 the other day needed 09L for departure because the TODA was insufficient on 09R, so I suspect that several other long haul aircraft have been in a similar position recently. Not sure about the "bumps" though.

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
5th Sep 2002, 16:55
There you go, Captain Rat - straight from the 'orses mouth.