PDA

View Full Version : Im New And Lookin For Wisdom :)

Holloway
23rd Aug 2002, 09:00
Hi there

Ok, First of all can I say this forum is amazing! there is so pricless information from the horses mouth and was everything I was looking for on the web to get information and some!!

Im trying to start my PPL on Saturday at Manston in Kent. Im 22 and I love flying and so far I have learnt Model Helecopters and im still learning model planes, but last week I went for a trial flight and im hooked!! I relised I could just afford it and this wouldnt be just for now it would be forever and oneday I could maybe buy my own plane.

I wanted to know if anyone had some advice for people like me in the starting stages, and had some words of wisdom and advice to put me on the right tracks with things I should take into account at this stage and read up on etc??

Im really excited and cant wait to be able to fly on my own!

Andrew :) :D

Lowtimer
23rd Aug 2002, 09:23
Holloway,

Welcome to the best way yet devised of learning and having fun at the same time.

Yours is a tough question, because in aviation generalisations (including this one!) are something you should be wary of. But at this early stage I hope the following will serve you well.

1. Never be afraid to ask an apparently dumb question. If there's something that gives you a nagging suspicion that you don't really understand it, stop and get an explanation.

2. Learn to listen for little voices that say "something's not quite right". They are potential life savers.