PDA

View Full Version : P1/s????

Spamcan defender
5th Aug 2002, 07:43
Hi, just a quick one!!
Went up for a club check out the other day with an instructor as i've not been up in a while :( :( . Question is do I log this as P1, P1/S or Pu/t??
An easy one, I know, but it IS Monday :confused: :confused:

FormationFlyer
5th Aug 2002, 10:59
If the instructor is logging P1 then you must log DUAL or P/UT.

If I fly with people as an instructor I am considered to be in anyway in command then I log P1 and they must log DUAL - that means ppl/cpl/atpl on a club check or a student on a course such as IMC, NIGHT etc...

PIC U/S or P1S is ONLY available as the result of a SUCCESSFUL flight test with an examiner unless PREVIOUSLY agreed with the CAA.

As no-one I have ever known has this agreement any flight where the instructor is logging P1 means you must log DUAL.

The CAA guidelines are VERY clear on this. Used to be in CAP53, GID44 and now LASORS. It has ALWAYS been the same.

Excuse the tone but it really annoys me that I get PPLs argue with me about this - and worse still a LOT of instructors get this wrong too...the documentation is quite clear....

Anyway..hope this helps clear it up.

tomahawk1673
5th Aug 2002, 12:12
I also went up for a check yesterday. (successfull!!) My instructor did my log book for me, she put her name as Captain, P1/s, and under "in command" the length of time, then signed it.

Is this correct?

FormationFlyer
5th Aug 2002, 14:47
Nope.

The instructor is WRONG.

Check out LASORS, GID 44 and CAP53 if you have it hanging around.

Trust me - I have even clarified this one with the CAA. PIC U/S is ONLY loggable for a successful flight test - and that means a flight test as recognised by the CAA with an approved examiner.

Hope this helps.

BlueLine
5th Aug 2002, 20:05
LASORS page 52 Item J

Pilot undergoing any form of flight test may log P1S for successful test, signed by P1 to be valid.