PDA

View Full Version : ERJ 145 pitching moment? Please help

RobbyErj145
24th Jul 2017, 16:38
Hi Guys,

I'm battling to understand why the application of speed brakes causes a dramatic nose pitch down in the ERJ. I can't seem to understand the couples. Is it the lift weight couple or the thrust drag couple that create this pitching moment.

TopBunk
24th Jul 2017, 20:03
Robby

Does it really matter?

Seriously, I have no knowledge of the ERJ145, never having flown them, but in my previous types, I just accepted the characteristics and lived with them. Maybe I was simplistic, but as I saw it, understanding wasn't going to change anything.

Just saying - keep life simple and take the money!

Basil
24th Jul 2017, 20:32
You may get a sensible answer in the Flight Testing forum.

TopBunk
24th Jul 2017, 20:37
Basil

By sensible, I presume you mean 'more technical'. I would suggest my response is nonetheless 'sensible'!

Just like the last inch of movement of the B747-400 spoiler deployment causing a pitch over, or the selection of flap 2 in an A320 causing a 'bunt over' - they happen, I can't stop them but can be aware and plan appropriately.

jack11111
24th Jul 2017, 21:06
"Seriously, I have no knowledge of the ERJ145, never having flown them, but in my previous types, I just accepted the characteristics and lived with them. Maybe I was simplistic, but as I saw it, understanding wasn't going to change anything."

I'm glad Sir Issac Newton felt differently about life.

galaxy flyer
24th Jul 2017, 21:07
Probably lift-weight coupling. The spoiler is located forward of the CofL, so extension causes lift forward of the CofL to be spoiled and the aft loaded component causes the nose down pitch.

Basil
25th Jul 2017, 08:36
COULD also be degraded tailplane downforce in turbulent airflow but the manufacturer should be able to provide a definitive answer.

Le Flaneur
12th Aug 2017, 01:51