PDA

View Full Version : Gallstones & gallbladder

DCTCLM
23rd Feb 2017, 08:52
Hi,

Can anyone point me to references to Gallbladder removal and the medical, class 1, consequences thanks.

Loose rivets
27th Feb 2017, 12:48
7mm is very small, but so is the exit tube. I can't find the diameter at the moment, but let me tell you this: you do NOT want to have it blocked any time - let alone when you're flying.

I had a stone the size of a small chicken egg and it gave me some problems a couple of times but then was asymptomatic for years. Then it got me.

The pain - like a spear shoved in my solar plexus that came out between my shoulder blades - is indescribable, so I won't try.

I had one of the first laparoscopic procedures and walked out of the hospital in 36 hours, and that included taking the bag out as well. Never missed it, despite being a glutton. Back to flying time? Rules is rules, but I felt fine in a week.

As a pilot, I'd like to have been without the gall-bag and appendix over those years.

Muzzey
27th Feb 2017, 19:12
Get it sorted - like LR, I had a flare up last summer and had a bag of gravel as it turned out, whilst waiting for the op nature opted to force my hand and a 5mm stone blocked my bile duct - I will also pass on describing the pain but did not know what do with myself! Intravenous paracetamol, codeine and three doses of oramorph finaly dulled the pain.
Also like LR, I had keyhole surgery leaving four cuts approx 12 - 15mm long, in & out in 24 hours, back to work in two weeks!
All good now, just avoid fatty food as it gives me the sq***ts
Hope this help you make the right decision.

Radgirl
27th Feb 2017, 20:43
Not sure I agree with the risk level of leaving it. If we look at the proportion of gallstones found at post mortem following 'death from old age' .....

But I guess you cant argue science in the UAE