PDA

View Full Version : Has EK been the worst decision ever?

A6EchoEchoUniform
21st Jan 2017, 20:18
I have a "kid" that I mentor who is now 24 years old. I've been mentoring him since he was 16 years old.

Anyhow, he's obsessed with Dubai and Emirates. Even has made a playlist of songs he's heard on ICE enroute to DXB to visit and plays them over and over. Calls then "Emirates music" and envisions being over the ocean on a ULR listening to them (lol). He wants to come fly here for 5-10 years, build up his experience, and then go back to the USA and get a job.

He hears my stories, but isn't turned off by them. He says this would be a good career move for him and "anyone can do that job for five or ten years, as long as there's an end in sight, and the aircraft experience is worth it."

So we all know the conditions here. But do you REGRET coming here, or are you just pissed off about the conditions, but don't regret it? Just curious if I'm jaded or if my "don't come here!" is the consensus for someone in the shoes this kid is in?

Dildobaggins
21st Jan 2017, 21:56
Oh FFS sake... get over yourself! It's still a good job and the conditions really aren't that bad, you earn good money and can easily support your family, these threads are just getting rediculous...

Popgun
21st Jan 2017, 22:38
I guess one of the important considerations (especially relevant for persons from western democracies) is if he will likely feel 'trapped' by rank and/or money down the track.

I know many pilots in the ME who would desperately love to return home to America/Canada/UK/Ireland/Australia/NZ/Sweden/Germany etc but feel they can't possibly do that because they couldn't tolerate the large take-home pay reduction and lower rank that will accompany a move to the bottom of a seniority list back in their home country.

PG

GoreTex
22nd Jan 2017, 01:11
I left because I thought its better to be unemployed than to work for them

Neptune Spear
22nd Jan 2017, 01:20