PDA

View Full Version : BBC FTL's MIDDLE EAST

poohpooh1
13th Dec 2016, 12:38
Hey guys,

I'm a broadcast journalist with the BBC. I'm really keen to speak with/ hear from pilots in the Middle East, specifically, regarding your experiences with FTL's, rosters and fatigue.

Obviously if you speak with me it will be under complete anonymity.

My email address is: orla.o'[email protected]

Cheers,

Orla O’Brien

Dildobaggins
13th Dec 2016, 14:10
Unfortunately 99% of the people on here just like to cry and moan but don't have the balls to actually do anything about it. Let the complaining begin....

TOGA Thrust
13th Dec 2016, 16:56
I see another journalist looking for a story and a source. There is so much I could show and tell but won't. Who can you trust these days? But I would offer any journalist some guiding words if the truth is what they truly seek.

So. What I would say to Orla?

I'm glad to see the BBC taking an interest in FTL's, rosters and fatigue in general and in particular the Middle East.

I think it would help if you could lay out your stall and objective. Where are you going with this?

FTL's are a complex issue, laid down legally by authorities, much of which makes little logical sense and vague enough to allow operators to step nimbly around the law to derive the maximum productivity from their crews often with little regard of their actual fitness to fly.

I would advise you do some research into what are the actual laws. You cannot begin to write until you understand them, at least in principle. Do you understand the difference between Duty Time, Flight Duty Time, Stick Time, Rest Time, Travel Time etc.? Do you understand fatigue reporting and processing? Do you understand the difference between being tired and being fatigued? Would you prefer a tired pilot to a fatigued one? Do you understand the overlap between Aviation Law and Employment Law? And do you appreciate the spirit of the law?