PDA

View Full Version : Any airline pilots here have Sciatica?

chrispike7
9th Oct 2016, 14:48
Hi

Ive been training rotary for a few lessons but under advice am thinking of switching to fixed wing and have a lesson booked. Once every so often my sciatica flares up but goes away with some ibuprofen and some walking around.

I would like to know if any pilots who suffer with sciatica have found this hindered their career in any way?

Has this been an issue when obtaining a medical or has it affected your flying in any way?

Radgirl
9th Oct 2016, 18:25
Has anyone found a pilot without back problems???

No as long as you have full power in your legs the medical is fine. As always, if the pain isnt controlled seek help - early local anaesthetic blocks do provide relief and dramatically reduce the risk of not returning to work

chrispike7
9th Oct 2016, 18:33
Didnt think it would be an issue but Im new to all this so had to ask!

JimR
11th Oct 2016, 16:08
I used to suffer from sciatica and in fact did cause some leg weakness that made it difficult climbing stairs. Physiotherapy originally and now with stretching exercises everyday and walking I don't suffer a thing (or nothing like I used to).

TURIN
11th Oct 2016, 16:14
PILATES!

That is all. :ok:

Loose rivets
11th Oct 2016, 23:16
Age? Weight? What other activities?

77 and have had a 'bad back' from 1999 until 18 months ago. Surgery, coupled with the realization that Gluten intolerance was also causing back pain has let me get my life back, though a tad late in my case.

Be mindful that quite a small irritation can cause general back pain or sciatica. I had a disc that was bulging to the left and begged other surgeons to operate. They all said it would get better. It didn't. My surgery was brief and I was released the following morning. Almost a non-event.

I always share these items just in case it helps someone.