PDA

View Full Version : Dannatt "quite content to say sorry" over Lariam

kintyred
31st Aug 2016, 21:20
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-37183873

Yet another breathtakingly arrogant pronouncement from the the "Flying Lord". Perhaps his most telling comment was that this debacle was caused by a lack of funds for the MoD. In other words, he thought that it was reasonable to expect those under his command to take cheap dodgy anti-malaria drugs so that he could he do his political masters' bidding.

sitigeltfel
1st Sep 2016, 06:07
Was pressure put on service personnel to take this drug and would refusal have triggered disciplinary action?

Tourist
1st Sep 2016, 08:33
To be fair, he let his son (who later had issues) take it so obviously did not believe it was a danger. You can only respond to the expert advice you are given.

Basil
1st Sep 2016, 08:51
As an airline pilot I stopped taking any Malarial prophylaxis.
When appropriate, I wore long sleeves and used repellent spray.

FantomZorbin
1st Sep 2016, 09:16
Would refusal to take anti-malaria medication and subsequently catching malaria be regarded as a self-inflicted injury?

Tankertrashnav
1st Sep 2016, 09:27
We used to take paludrine which I think was pretty universal before lariam and the later generation of anti-malarial drugs came along.

I notice that one of the side effects of paludrine is "reversible hair loss". In my case, unfortunately, the hair loss is irreversible. Do you think I have a case for suing the MOD? ;)

Wageslave
1st Sep 2016, 09:39
Yet another breathtakingly arrogant pronouncement from the the "Flying Lord".
What a breathtakingly arrogant post from the OP.

What has arrogance to do with it? The man has apologised for being the Senior man when the medics were prescribing a well known and well used drug that is in use the world over. What the **** is arrogant about that?