PDA

View Full Version : B777 logic - balked landing/GA after touch down

gatbusdriver
5th Aug 2016, 11:18
Hi,

There are a couple of threads running on the Emirates accident the other day so not looking to start a new debate.

As a B777 driver I have been looking in my manuals for information on what happens when you select TOGA after touchdown. My memory is failing me but it is along the lines of.......if you are less than 5' for less than 2seconds then you need to manually advance thrust levers. If you are less than 5' for more than 2 seconds you don't get FD guidance. In either case you are required to select TOGA again once airborne.

I appreciate that what I wrote above is most likely wrong, but you know where I am coming from. Not suggesting this is what happened, I am just trying to satisfy my own curiosity and find the reference which I cannot find in either FCOM or FCTM. Any help greatfully accepted.

Regards,

GBD

JammedStab
5th Aug 2016, 12:09
I have unofficial information(study guides, etc) for the 747 that say that it is inhibited once below 5' for 2 seconds until 3 seconds after climbing above 5 feet.

Then on the 777 I have similar but it says inhibited below 2 feet until 3 seconds after climbing through 5 feet.

But in both cases, none of this is in the official manuals. The FCOM in both just says "The TO/GA switches are inhibited when on the ground and enabled again when in the air for a go–around or touch and go"

wiggy
5th Aug 2016, 14:38
Frustrating isn't it....perhaps a sign of the manuals being "dumbed down" or "why would you need to know that"...:hmm:

Like you gents a few years back I recall my previous type's FCOM (744) gave the numbers ( and yes, I recall it being something along the lines of below x feet for y seconds).

Not sure if I have ever seen the 777 FCOM with numbers quoted and as JS states now it just seems to be the narrative as described in our FCTM, FCOM, etc.