PDA

View Full Version : Engine Shutdown - How Long Before Safe?

BugSmasher1960
5th Aug 2016, 05:10
In the case of something like a 777 or 787 - does anyone know how long one has to wait from an engine shutdown being initiated to when it's safe for passengers to be evacuated in the vicinity/in-front of it?

NSEU
5th Aug 2016, 05:59
It doesn't take long for the thrust to disappear. The engine "fire" goes out almost immediately. As a ground maintenance engineer, I used to put safety cones a meter or so in front of engines shortly after engine shutdown (sometimes, I'd say, as quickly as 30 seconds). The noise of the engine blades spooling down was a little intimidating though.

I'd leave the cones at the back of the engine a little longer, but that's only because I didn't like burnt fuel fumes :yuk: Sometimes cargo (un) loaders would approach the aircraft before the engineer at the nosewheel gave the thumbs up, but they didn't seem to suffer any ill-effects.

Perhaps the pilots can comment on what %rpm they turn off the red beacon/strobe light?

BugSmasher1960
5th Aug 2016, 06:10
Thanks NSEU - I'm kinda after a figure though. I'm guessing that even without ignition, you still have a heavy mass of fan blades pulling some air in - would just like to know at what point that becomes insignificant.

FullWings
5th Aug 2016, 06:56
I’d say that if you’re actioning the evacuation checklist, by the time the slides have deployed and people are arriving at the bottom of them, there won’t be a danger from the engines unless you climb into the inlet and stick body parts into the fan.

Our Shutdown Procedure has the beacon going off last and if you do the procedure in a non-rushed manner, it’s going to be 5-10s between fuel control switches and the beacon. Even on a GE90-115, I don’t think there’s a danger of ingesting anyone that walks past the front at that point.

JammedStab
5th Aug 2016, 08:16